Our Board of Directors.

Our Board of Directors.

Our Board is sharply focused on creating long-term value for shareholders – providing strategic guidance for Mercury, and effective oversight of management. The Board of Directors is accountable to shareholders for the company’s performance.

Prue Flacks // <span class="font-normal">Chair</span>

Prue Flacks // Chair

Prue was appointed a Director of Mercury in May 2010 and Chair of the Board in September 2019. Prue is a professional director with experience across a range of industries. She was formerly a commercial lawyer and a partner in the national law firm Russell McVeagh for 20 years. Her expertise included corporate and regulatory matters, corporate finance, capital markets and business restructuring. Prue is currently a director of Chorus Limited and is a chartered member of the Institute of Directors. Prue is a member of our People and Performance Committee and Chair of our Nominations Committee.

Hannah Hamling // <span class="font-normal">Director</span>

Hannah Hamling // Director

Hannah Hamling joined the Mercury Board in February 2020, and was recently appointed as a member of its Risk Assurance and Audit Committee. She is an environmental scientist with a particular interest in sustainable development and resilience. Until January 2020, she was President of the Asia Pacific Region and Global Sustainable Development Leader for Golder, a Canadian global ground engineering and environmental science company. Prior to joining Golder, Hannah was Managing Director of New Zealand environmental consultancy firm Kingett Mitchell. Hannah has extensive background in consulting, management and board roles across various sectors including electricity, construction and water management.

Andy Lark // <span class="font-normal">Director</span>

Andy Lark // Director

Andy Lark joined the Mercury Board in July 2014. He has a background in entrepreneurship, marketing and digital technologies. Andy is currently the Chair of Group Lark and an accelerant for brand and digital transformations. Prior roles include Chief Marketing & Online Officer for the Commonwealth Bank of Australia, Chief Marketing Officer for Dell’s Large Enterprise & Public Group, Chief Marketing and Digital Officer for Foxtel, and Chief Business Officer for Xero.

James Miller // <span class="font-normal">Director</span>

James Miller // Director

James Miller was appointed a director of Mercury in May 2012 and is a member of the Risk Assurance and Audit Committee and the Nominations Committee. He is Chair of NZX, acting Deputy Chair of Accident Compensation Corporation, and a director of The New Zealand Refining Company. He has specialist expertise in utility economics and 15 years’ experience in capital markets, having retired as a director and Head of NZ Wholesale Equities with Craigs Investment Partners. James’ prior roles included Head of Equities and Head of Research at ABN AMRO. James is a Fellow of the Institute of Finance Professionals and the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants.

Keith Smith // <span class="font-normal">Director</span>

Keith Smith // Director

Keith Smith was appointed a Director of Mercury in May 2009 and is Chair of its Risk Assurance and Audit Committee. He is Chair of Goodman (NZ), Deputy Chair of The Warehouse Group and various private companies covering a range of industry sectors. Keith is also a trustee for Cornwall Park Trust Board and a member of the Advisory Board of Tax Traders Limited (formerly The New Zealand Tax Trading Company).

Scott St John // <span class="font-normal">Director</span>

Scott St John // Director

Scott St John joined the Mercury Board in September 2017 and is the Chair of its People & Performance Committee. He has an extensive background in investment advisory and capital markets. Scott is Chancellor of University of Auckland and has directorships with Fisher & Paykel Healthcare Corporation and Fonterra Cooperative Group. He is also a board member of Next Foundation, and a former member of the Capital Markets Development Taskforce and the Financial Markets Authority Establishment Board. He was the Chief Executive of First NZ Capital from 2002 to 2017.

Patrick Strange // <span class="font-normal">Director</span>

Patrick Strange // Director

Patrick Strange joined the Mercury Board in February 2014 and is a member of its Nominations Committee. He was previously a director of our company in 2006-2007 before being appointed Chief Executive of New Zealand’s transmission owner and operator, Transpower New Zealand Limited, a position he held for more than six years. Patrick currently chairs Chorus and Auckland International Airport and was previously a Director of NZX Limited and Essential Energy, Australia.

Mike Taitoko // <span class="font-normal">Director</span>

Mike Taitoko // Director

Mike Taitoko was appointed to the Board in August 2015. He is a leading advisor on Māori economic development and has well-established networks in Māoridom. Mike has strong commercial skills in the application of digital technologies and is the co-founder and CEO of Takiwa Limited, a technology company commercialising cloud-based geospatial analytics services. He is also a Director of Auckland Tourism Events and Economic Development (ATEED).