Our Board of Directors

Our Board is sharply focused on creating long-term value for shareholders – providing strategic guidance for Mercury, and effective oversight of management. The Board of Directors is accountable to shareholders for the company’s performance.

Joan Withers image

Joan Withers // Chair

Joan Withers was appointed a Director of Mercury in August 2009 and Chair of the Board in October 2009. She is Chair of the Warehouse Group, a Director of ANZ Bank New Zealand and a trustee of the Louise Perkins Foundation (Sweet Louise). Joan has more than 20 years' experience at a senior executive level in the New Zealand media industry, including serving as Chief Executive Officer of Fairfax New Zealand and The Radio Network of New Zealand.



Prue Flacks image

Prue Flacks // Director

Prue Flacks joined the Mercury Board in May 2010 and is the Chair of its People & Performance Committee. She is a barrister and solicitor with extensive specialist experience in commercial law and, in particular, banking and finance and securities law. Prue was a partner of Russell McVeagh for 20 years. She is the Chair of Queenstown Airport Corporation and a Director of Chorus and Bank of New Zealand.



Andy Lark image

Andy Lark // Director

Andy Lark joined the Mercury Board in July 2014. He has a background in entrepreneurship, marketing and digital technologies. Andy is currently the Chair of Group Lark, an accelerant for brand and digital transformations, and a Director of SLI Systems. Prior roles include Chief Marketing & Online Officer for the Commonwealth Bank of Australia, Chief Marketing Officer for Dell’s Large Enterprise & Public Group, and Chief Marketing Officer for Xero.



James Miller image

James Miller // Director

James Miller was appointed a Director of Mercury in May 2012. He is Chair of NZX, and a Director of Accident Compensation Corporation and Auckland International Airport. He has 15 years’ experience in capital markets, having retired as a Director and Head of NZ Wholesale Equities with Craigs Investment Partners. James’ prior roles included Head of Equities and Head of Research at ABN AMRO. James is a Fellow of the Institute of Finance Professionals and the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants.



Keith Smith image

Keith Smith // Director

Keith Smith was appointed a Director of Mercury in May 2009 and is Chair of its Risk Assurance and Audit Committee. He is Chair of Goodman (NZ), Deputy Chair of The Warehouse Group and a Director of Westland Dairy Cooperative and various private companies covering a range of industry sectors. Keith is also a trustee for Cornwall Park Trust Board and a member of the Advisory Board of Tax Traders Limited (formerly The New Zealand Tax Trading Company).



Scott St John image

Scott St John // Director

Scott St John joined the Mercury Board in September 2017. He has an extensive background in investment advisory and capital markets. Mr St John is Chancellor of University of Auckland and has directorships with Fisher & Paykel Healthcare Corporation and Fonterra Cooperative Group. He is also a board member of Next Foundation, and a former member of the Capital Markets Development Taskforce and the Financial Markets Authority Establishment Board. He was the Chief Executive of First NZ Capital from 2002 to 2017.



Patrick Strange image

Patrick Strange // Director

Patrick Strange joined the Mercury Board in February 2014. He was previously a director of our company in 2006-2007 before being appointed Chief Executive of New Zealand’s transmission owner and operator, Transpower New Zealand Limited, a position he held for more than six years. Patrick is currently Chair of Chorus, Chair of Auckland International Airport and a Director of NZX Limited and Essential Energy, Australia.



Mike Taitoko image

Mike Taitoko // Director

Mike Taitoko was appointed to the Board in August 2015. He is a leading advisor on Māori economic development and has well-established networks in Māoridom. Mike has strong commercial skills in the application of digital technologies and is the co-founder and Managing Director of Takiwa Limited, a technology company commercialising cloud-based geospatial analytics services. He is also a Director of Bio-resource Processing Alliance, and Auckland Tourism Events and Economic Development (ATEED) and a Member of the Digital Economy and Digital Inclusion Ministerial Advisory Group.